Singapore : the first ten years of independence, 1965 to 1975

Digitised Book (0)


Singapore : the first ten years of independence, 1965 to 1975

About the Book

On 9th August 1965, Singapore was declared an independent nation. The news brought feelings of shock and uncertainty. The first cabinet ministers were Lee Kuan Yew, Dr. Toh Chin Chye, Dr. Goh Keng Swee, Sinnathamby Rajaratnam, Ong Pang Boon, Yong Nyuk Lin, Lim Kim San, Jek Yeun Thong, Othman Wok and Edmund W. Barker, ten of them altogether. As a team, they made key transformation during the first decade of Singapore’s independence in the area of security, economy and society.

Other issues in the series

{{ element }}

Additional Details

Politics and Government>>National Security
Personalities>>Biographies>>Political Leaders
Cabinet officers--Singapore--History
Political leadership--Singapore--History
Singapore--Politics and government--1965-1990
Law and government>>Political ideologies>>Democratic government
Law and government>>Political process>>Leadership
National Library Board and National Archives of Singapore, 2007
National Library Board Singapore, 2007
Singapore. National Library Board
National Archives (Singapore)
National Archives of Singapore
Digital Description
application/pdf, ill. (some col.)
Table of Contents
a gathering of ten -- timeline -- ch. 1. Securing the nation -- ch. 2. The path to prosperity -- ch. 3. Shaping the people -- Epilogue: the legacy.
All rights reserved. National Library Board Singapore, National Archives of Singapore, 2007