10.00am – 9.00pm
Level 11, Promenade
National Library Building
Free admission

The Singapore Literary Pioneers Gallery at the National Library promotes Singapore literature and gives recognition to our writers.

The gallery occupies the concourse area at Level 11, Lee Kong Chian Reference Library. It features 30 of the nation’s writers, including Edwin Thumboo, Xing Ying, Harun Aminurrashid and Na Palanivelu. It acknowledges their efforts in developing Singapore’s literary heritage.

The gallery displays their books, letters, calligraphic works, manuscripts, photographs and portraits. Some writers have also donated their pens, typewriters and literary awards. In addition, visitors can view audio and video recordings of the writers in two multimedia screens. A resource booklet provides more details for visitors and researchers.

The National Library Board sincerely thanks the writers, their families, the National Arts Council (NAC), National Book Development Council of Singapore (NBDCS), literary associations, sponsors and partners for their support and feedback.