The award categories for the Reading Excellence Award are:

Primary Secondary
1st Prize $10,000 $10,000
2nd Prize $7,500 $7,500
3rd Prize $5,000 $5,000
Crowd Favourite* $2,000

*The Crowd Favourite category is limited to schools on the shortlist.

Winners will also receive:
A trophy
A banner

15 schools will be shortlisted from the pool of nominees. Schools on the shortlist that do not win will receive a commendation plaque each. Schools on the shortlist will also be featured in a publication documenting best reading practices in schools.